Together, we can transform our community.

As a communitywide effort, HEA provides organizational leadership, supports collaboration and encourages collective action to generate results on critical community issues. The HEA board includes all seven Elkhart County public school superintendents, as well as several local business CEOs and community leaders.

Board of Directors


  • Jane Allen

    Superintendent, Middlebury Community Schools

  • Dr. Scot Croner

    Superintendent, Wa-Nee Community Schools

  • Jim DuBois

    Superintendent, Baugo Community Schools

  • Dr. Rob Haworth

    Superintendent, Elkhart Community Schools

  • Steve Thalheimer

    Superintendent, Fairfield Community Schools

  • John Trout

    Superintendent, Concord Community Schools

  • Dr. Diane Woodworth

    Superintendent, Goshen Community Schools


  • Randy Christophel

    President and CEO, Goshen Health

  • Wes Herschberger

    CEO, Mapletronics Computers

  • Ken Julian

    VP Administration and HR, Thor Industries

  • John Leavitt

    President, Salem Insurance Agency

  • Dan Oakley

    Executive Director, JP Morgan Chase

  • Amish Shah

    President and CEO, Kem Krest Corporation

  • Brian Smith

    CEO, Heritage Financial Group

  • Will Weed

    Chief Revenue Officer, Robert Weed Corporation


  • Vicki Becker

    Elkhart County Prosecutor

  • Felipe Merino

    Managing Attorney, Merino Law Firm

  • Laurie Nafziger

    President and CEO, Oaklawn

  • Dr. Rebecca Stoltzfus

    President, Goshen College

  • Candy Yoder

    President and CEO, Child and Parent Services/CAPS

  • Mike Yoder

    Elkhart County Commissioner